Skip to main content

Your free what's on guide to the NT

45th Katherine Prize

IN 1975, GENEROUS benefactors Jeanette and Brian Lambert founded the Katherine Prize, an art award to acknowledge and celebrate Territory artists.

Held annually at Godinymayin Yijard Rivers Arts & Culture Centre (GYRACC), it’s the longest running art award in the Northern Territory. This year, the awards return to celebrate a huge 45 years.

GYRACC Curator Brendan Penzer says the purpose of the awards is to support Territory talent.

“It’s a regional art prize that extends to people across the NT. What’s amazing is the philanthropic commitment from the Lamberts, who have supported the awards for 45 years,” he says.

“It provides professional development opportunities for artists, allowing them to showcase their work and nurture their development.”

The number of works submitted to the awards varies each year, with about 60 works accepted in 2019. But a change in the criteria this year could see these numbers increase.

“The awards had a condition in the past where works had to have a connection to the NT, which seemed a little vague – I think all artists that reside in the NT have a connection, so we’ve changed that this year to be open to all works from Territory artists,” Penzer says.

“As a curator, I love to see people’s best work and what they do, I don’t think they should be limited by conditions. It can be anything – artists make all kinds of different things.”

Categories are broken into several categories, with some serious cash up for grabs. The winner of the Katherine Town Council Award will take home $2,000, and $5,000 goes to the overall winner of the Brian and Jeanette Lambert Award.

Submissions are open now, with winning pieces exhibited from next month.


Photo: Brian and Jeanette Lambert with 2019 winner Danny Murphy and his winning work 'Earthly Delights'.

More reads

Advertisement: Darwin Fringe 2024