Skip to main content

Your free what's on guide to the NT

2016 NT Song of the Year Winners

THE NT SONG OF THE YEAR AWARDS WERE HELD LAST MONTH AT THE MUSEUM AND ART GALLERY OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY AMPHITHEATRE, which had its non-existent roof blown off by an impressive line-up of Territory performers. Hosted by Triple J’s Dom Alessio, and presented by the legendary crew at MusicNT, the night celebrated and acknowledged the diverse musical talent spanning the Territory. Big congrats to all nominees and winners, who continually create music all Territorians can be proud of. 

2016 Winners

OVERALL NT SONG OF THE YEAR  'Salt'  by Dave Crowe aka Resin Moon

PEOPLE'S CHOICE 'Shadows' by Michael Cameron, Paddy Kossack, Devon Lines, Marcus Hamilton, Kamahi King and Shaelee (aka Ktown) with help from Indigenous Hip Hop Projects

ROCK 'Murray Island' by Kasley Daniels, Ambrose Daniels, Burt Rami, Winston Joshua, Ben Mangi, Dylan Daniels aka Lonely Boys

POP 'Mulunda' (Kingfisher) by Stanley Gawurra Gaykamangu aka Gawurra

FOLK 'Everything Was At Peace' by Eleanor Dixon and Beatrice Lewis

URBAN/HIPHOP 'Ruler' by Huu Loc Nguyen aka Col Infinity

BLUES & ROOTS 'Give Thanks'by Colin Lillie

COUNTRY 'Gurtha' (The Fire) by Dhapanbal Yunupingu ft Shellie Morris

HEAVY 'Bond' by Tom Devine-Harrison, Luke Dorward, Elliot Williams, Darcy Grant and Connor Askham aka Tapestry

ELECTRONIC/DANCE 'Salt' by Dave Crowe aka Resin Moon

TOURISM NT TERRITORY SONG 'Next Time' by Joshua Tarca aka Ben Evolent

YOUTH 'Kulimindini is My Home'by Alex Butler, Justin Rankine aka E Town Boyz with Eleanor Dixon

HALL OF FAME Denise Officer and Bill Searle

More reads

Advertisement: Darwin Fringe 2024