Skip to main content

Your free what's on guide to the NT

NT Literary Awards Shortlist Announced

Judges have praised the creativity of the Territory writers who have been shortlist for the NT Literary Awards.

The shortlist was announced over the weekend with more than 300 submissions whittled down to just under 30 top entries across seven categories.

There were strong entries from all over the NT, including Alice Springs where the awards ceremony will be held on July 24 at the Araluen Arts Centre.

The Northern Territory Library and Archives senior director Patrick Gregory, says the Library is always impressed by the high level of quality submissions.

“We are excited that six of the shortlisted works are by authors who live in or near Alice Springs,” he says.

“It will make the Awards Ceremony all the more special when it is held at Araluen Arts Centre for the first time this year.

“Even more special is three of the works shortlisted in the youth category are by Alice Springs high school students. 

“We hope their experience in these Awards encourages them to keep writing.”

The annual Northern Territory Literary Awards have celebrated the work of Northern Territory writers for more than 35 years.

It is part of an ongoing program of events at the Northern Territory Library that celebrate the achievements of established and emerging writers, storytellers and prominent Territorians.

2018 Northern Territory Literary Awards shortlist 

Brown’s Mart Theatre Award
A Smoke Social, Sandra Thibodeaux
Cusp, Mary Anne Butler
Charles Darwin University Creative Non-Fiction Award
Chess, James Murray
Karen, Worthington Smelling
Missing out on being a Catholic, Kaye Aldenhoven
We Never Had Any Proper Food, Kaye Aldenhoven
Charles Darwin University Essay Award
‘Unviable’ languages? Colonisation, assimilation, and bilingual education in the Northern Territory, Amy Claire Thomas
Flash Fiction Award
A Fishbone in the Throat, Betty Lum
Big Foot Marcus, Trish Higgins
Chaos, Ashleigh Ascoli
Don Juan Quandary, David Quan
Fortunate Dragon, Shona Ford
Gods Nectar, Georgia Manuela Delgado
Matthew, Worthington Smelling
Virginia Woolf would be proud, Johanna Bell
Kath Manzie Youth Award
From my Culture and Ancestors, Ezra Angeles
I Belong, Janaya Kopp
Vanilla, Ellaby Kenneth
We Can Still, Holly Van't Sand
NT Writers' Centre Poetry Award
Melancholy Portrait, Brian Obiri-Asare
Stone country, Susan Fielding
There'll Be A Payphone At The Roadhouse, Parker Black
What to do with the foam in my mouth, Johanna Bell
ZipPrint Short Story Award
EDGE, Dina Davis
Inseparable, Edgar Keighley
Some problems I am having, Johanna Bell
The Virgin Mary and Katrina Sparks, Mhairi Duncan
2018 Northern Territory Literary Awards | Tue 24 Jul | 5.30-7.30pm | Araluen Arts Centre | Free

More reads

Advertisement: Darwin Fringe 2024